How to create a beautiful drawer pull in 10 minutes

From this to this in 10 minutes:

  
I am currently working on up-cycling a beautiful vanity, and have plans on matching this to a giant wardrobe that I acquired. On each one, I want similar drawer pulls, both the same color, but in different shapes. (The wardrobe will have a knob and keyhole, while the vanity will be a simple drawer pull.) My only problem: I can’t find an exact match. The solution: paint them, while keeping the antiqued look and bringing everything together.  

Step one: Pick similar pulls so that shape and style match. We will be adding color highlights to each but it would be helpful if the two sets have a similar base coat. 

Step two: Choose three or four colors to highlight with. I used acrylic paint and used black, teal, copper and pastel green. 

Step three: Plan out how you would like the accents to look. Do you want large dark areas? Small highlights? Make a plan for your look so you have an idea of where you will need to paint. 

Step four: Paint. I painted large areas with the real and used a small bit of black to darken it. I then dry brushed some of the pastel paint over the colors so it looked antiqued. Finally, I added a few copper highlights around the edges. 

Since this was acrylic paint, and I was mostly dry brushing, it was dry in a few minutes! Now everything is more unique with a brighter antiqued patina look and will be a perfect matching bedroom set when I paint the wardrobe’s door handles to match! I am even adding a few wood accents in the same color to the vanity mirror to tie everything together further.

   
 
And, it case you are curious, here is the vanity’s work in progress photo!

  

Leave a Reply

